Sunday Wooly Bits

Sunday saw Glenda, Jan and me heading up the freeway to Millrose for our Sue Spargo class with Lizzie.

As usual with this crazy bunch of wooly quilters, much hilarity ensued, information and techniques were shared, and lots of work was achieved. We were given two blocks this month…

20130527-170619.jpg

20130527-170752.jpgNice colours, huh? After several hours work, time that flew by, we were off to the cafe next door for lunch, where we viewed the dismal weather in great comfort…

20130527-171022.jpg..and I made everyone wait, mouths watering, while I photographed their delectable meals!!

20130527-171130.jpgSeveral opted for the soup, and our table shared the bowl of chips – just what was needed on a miserable, cold day!

Amply sustained, it was back to the shop. The afternoon hours rapidly vanished too, but by the time we were ready to leave I had my two blocks stitched down….

20130527-171420.jpg…ready for embellishing over the next few weeks.

We three then headed a little further up the road as I’d heard on the grape vine of a hat emporium! The Gordon Hat Shoppe is to be found in a restored Anglican Church, and is filled with an amazing variety of hats for both men and women. What fun we had trying on the different styles!

20130527-172045.jpg…and the outside is a treat too…

20130527-172145.jpgI’ll show you my new headgear soon!

Another fabulous day. So satisfied with what I achieved, and ready for some embellishing fun!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Wooly Bits

  1. Sue Flego says:

    What a fun day you all had. I am starting a project from Material Obsession using felt.
    What project are you making?

  2. Helen F says:

    Lunch looked fantastic – talk about salivate!!!! I just luuuv the hat shop – I can just picture our Kaye in there trying on all the hats – maybe on the way to Sewjourn!!!! Looking forward to seeing your new headgear – you will have to wear it Saturday – going to be cruddy weather!!!

  3. Never mind the sewing, the food, the hats (although they are all wonderful)……. I love the last photo!

  4. Liz McMahon says:

    Glad you had a good day and also got to see my little village, did you meet Bob? He really is our local eccentric..
    Lizzie
    xx

  5. I can’t wait to see your new head gear. As always your wool play is superb. I have nominated you for a WordPress Family Award because I thoroughly enjoy reading your day to day reports. Happy stitching.

  6. treadlemusic says:

    Those last few photos are gorgeous!! I could live in a world that looked like that all the time! The hat shop is so neat!! I am so glad that hats have made a come-back. Cute woolen “newsboy” hats are to be seen on so many now! Your lunch is definitely what I would pick, too. And, oh yes, the woolies are very nice, too!! Hehe! Although the humid 80’s F are upon us, I have been digging around in my wool felt stash. Seems like I’m always a season off! LOL! Hugs, D

  7. Glendacust@gmail.com says:

    Congratulations on your award nomination!!
    Soooo well deserved my friend!!!
    Gxxxx

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

