In the Garden

Our mild Autumn weather has disappeared; we’re having lovely brisk mornings, deliciously bracing days, and some much needed rain. (Apologies to all you Summer lovers, but it’s my turn now!!)

Before the turn to Winter, I did get to spend a little time in the garden. Father-in-law sent over some Autumn leaves for the green recycle bin. At this time of year, I fertilise the lemon tree and use old newspapers and the leaves from the Claret Ash as mulch around it, but as the Claret Ash dropped its leaves so early this year there were none for mulching, so Father-in-law’s leaves were much appreciated under the lemon tree instead of the recycle bin. And there’s a little lemon too – the first for many months!

20130515-165944.jpgThe hydrangea have been pruned; new buds are already appearing…

20130515-170216.jpgI seem to remember usually doing this all rugged up against the cold, but the other day I was in a t-shirt!!

The cyclamen is back on the deck table, about to flower…

20130515-170501.jpgIt’s actually a vivid red – not sure why the camera didn’t reflect the true colour.

The polygalas are about to bloom again too…

20130515-170709.jpgThen there’s all these babies around the garden; the middle right hand photo is the hot pink I see from my chair in the family room where I sit to hand sew – delightful!

20130515-171114.jpgLovely Autumn colour!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In the Garden

  1. Beautiful colours, especially the hot pink! We reckon our garden is about a month behind because of the cold spring – the tree in the front garden should be smothered in blossom by now, but it is just sitting there sulking!!

  2. Abigail says:

    I also like to use newspaper & leaves around the plants. The newspaper is to block weeds. The leaves are nice in the autumn, however they usually end up blowing away. I was not sure what “green recycle bin” meant so I looked it up. We don’t have that where I live; composting is up to the individual & people are not even recycling. 😦

  3. Susan says:

    Autumn is my favourite season. Lovely to have some colour in the garden, and I would dearly love some of your rain.

  4. Helen F says:

    Can’t believe this is the third season you are getting from your cyclamen – mine just die!!!!

  5. mandymunroe says:

    Plenty of colour still. I’d love to grow lemons but that isn’t going to happen in the UK!

  6. Quilter501 says:

    We are alike in that by far autumn and winter are my favorite seasons. It is lovely to breathe brisk air…..and to sit inside looking out at the colors while stitching/quilting. I just feel more energetic. Good thing as I live where it it cool/cold about 10 months of the year!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

