The Reveal!

The moment I saw this fabric, I was in love!

20130426-114812.jpgIt called to some other fabrics, gradually getting an assemblage together…

20130426-115241.jpgAnd I did have a plan in mind, but something kept me from making a start on that particular pattern. (It can wait for it’s own special fabric!)

Then, as I was casually flicking through my favourite quilt books, I spied an antique log cabin quilt, done in reds, creams and blues, in Linda Seward’s Country Quilts.

This was It!

This is what this fabric was destined to become!

So after a little play on EQ5 deciding on sizing, I gathered up my roses and her companions ready to start……but before beginning, they told me they needed some more friends, so we dutifully scouted some out…

20130426-115950.jpgand after some cutting of strips (I luuuurve my Binding Cutter Ruler. Ask at your favourite quilt shop for code VR24250 if you’d like one too – supplier is Victorian Textiles. Makes cutting 2 1/2″ strips such a breeze!!), and cutting of squares from the roses, a little machine stitching ensued and before long….

Hamptons Cabin was born!

20130426-120803.jpgSorry it’s not a great photo, but it’s H.u.g.e. – 88″ square! (With grateful thanks to GJ, her number 2 son and his girlfriend for being holderuperers).

I’m so pleased with how this has turned out – even better than in my mind’s eye. Don’t you just love it when that happens?!

20130426-121116.jpgI just need to decide how to quilt it – I’m inclined to hand quilt it in perle, stitching lines down each log and quilting “logs” in the centre squares, which should(!) be quick, or I could send it out for an all over machine job…….still contemplating!  What do you think?

If you’d like to make your own version of Hamptons Cabin, I’ve made a tutorial which you can find here.

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Reveal!

  1. Becky says:

    What a great way to showcase a beautiful fabric! You work fast!!!

  2. Jess says:

    What a beautiful quilt! It is the perfect way to showcase that AMH print!

  3. marian says:

    WOW, Meredithe, you certainly don’t mess about LOL!!! it’s looking gorgeous and i definitely like your idea of quilting it with perle cotton down each log.. perfect!! Hope you bring it along next w/e!!

  4. Helen F says:

    Fantastic M!!! It looks great all sewn together!! I just luv it!!!!

  5. Ali Fergusson says:

    Hi Meredithe

    Can you believe I purchased 5 yards of this last year at the Sydney Quilt Show as I too fell in love the moment I spied it on Material Obsession ‘s stand !
    I have been contemplating what to do with it and but done nothing …. until now.
    I may just have to follow your lead – what a great quilt.

    I remember someone else buying a similar amount that day – she planned on making a wholecloth quilt only outlining the designs on the fabric with Perle threads !

    lovely blog as always and best wishes
    Ali

    Ali Fergusson
    Sydney

  6. patchworkrose says:

    Love it M.. That feature fabric is just gorgeous. I like the idea of the big stitch. It is like adding another layer..Love all those fabric friendly logs you have added too.
    I will be watching and waiting to see
    Cheers
    Lynne

  7. This quilt is calling out for some handquilting, I think. Have had that feeling of a set of fabric and colours coming together better than expected. I love your quilt.

  8. audrey says:

    How beautiful! Great use of your fabric.:) Big stitch–definitely!

  9. njquilter24 says:

    beautiful fabrics you used, love the quilt! oh yes I can see it quilted with a variegated pearle cotton! have fun
    Kathie
    http://inspiredbyantiquequilts.blogspot.com

  10. Sharyn says:

    I too have a piece of this gorgeous fabric, which was a gift to me. Haven’t decided yet how to use it, don’t think I can cut into it yet, but love what you have done with yours. However you decide to quilt it I am sure it will be perfect. I am not quite into hand quilting yet, but I am getting closer to taking the plunge!

  11. Beautiful. Love the fabrics and you selected the perfect block to showcase them. Love it.

  12. thimbleanna says:

    It’s fabulous Meredithe! I love that beautiful fabric in the centers of the squares. I think pearl cotton would be wonderful on this quilt!

  13. Ann says:

    Love your new quilt. I think you should hand quilt with pearl thread. Fabulous.

  14. Yum, yum and more yum! I would have it longarm quilted, just to have it finished as soon as possible …….

  15. treadlemusic says:

    I so love it when it all comes together…..and that is one magnificent finish! Your fabrics are beautiful and showcase that focus fabric perfectly! Hugs, Doreen

  16. Carolyn says:

    Wow. What a fantastic quilt. I love it. The feature fabric is beautiful and it sits beautifully in the log cabin.

  17. Janine says:

    I have a piece of that one. Thought that I would make a lamp shade. Hamptons Cabin. Love the name.xx

  18. Cathy says:

    wow, what a knock me in the eye gorgeous quilt! I love it M, such a beauty!

  19. Andrea Vincent says:

    Wow, your quilt is amazing, great colour way and style to highlight a beautiful fabric!
    Thanks for your great blog too.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

