“A” is for Applique

Lucie, over at The Happy Quilter, has put out a challenge for appliqué, and…..well you know where this is going, don’t you?!

Each month Lucie will nominate a theme for a block to make. Apart from that it’s pretty much rule free – do your own thing basically.

This month’s theme is “Home is Where the Heart is”. Now not being much of one for either hearts or homes in my quilts, this was already proving a bit of a challenge. But the brain plodded slowly through a process and I took pencil to paper to make sense of a sprouting idea. (Please don’t laugh too loudly at my drawings – it’s not my forte!)

I wish I had the knack of being able to transfer to paper what I see in my mind; what a wonderful gift that would be! After much pencil and eraser work, this is what I produced…

20130422-120211.jpgHome, the nest. Heart, the wings.

But then the birds were a bit twee for the look I wanted, so back to the drawing board (literally Pa Kettle’s drawing board that he made many years ago, and which I snaffled a little while ago!!), and came up with these birds instead…

20130422-120502.jpgAnd here are my feathered family, in their colourful attire…

20130422-120645.jpgI finished the block last week, well within the allotted time – aren’t you proud of me?!

Waiting to hear what May’s theme will be now. I’ve already started to plot how the finished quilt might look; you know, that vague formation in the back of the head…..just sitting there…..waiting to see the next block’s interpretation…..fitting things together…… Fun!!

For more on Lucie’s challenge go here.

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “A” is for Applique

  1. Helen F says:

    What can I say – nice fabric!!!!!

  2. Belinda says:

    I like both versions of your birdies. And your finished block looks lovely. 🙂

  3. Jan says:

    Impressed!!? Yes.

  4. audrey says:

    Love your work! Perfect way to cut the birds out with the fabric suggesting they each have an eye.:)

  5. Sharyn says:

    Love it, but where’s the heart?I too wish I could draw, have not advanced past stick figures. The grand children all put me to shame!!

  6. Becky says:

    Great block! love your quirky birds!

  7. Kate says:

    Lovely fabrics and lovely stitching! I like the birdie on the left shaking his little tail feathers!

  8. Simply beautiful. Love it Cx

  9. What a fantastic block. I love it.

  10. Susan says:

    How wonderful to take your idea through the drawing stage to fabric. Makes me realise how much work goes into all the designs we see.

  11. Glendacust@gmail.com says:

    How clever are you !!!
    A nice pressie for miss Helen !!!
    Gxx

  12. Sandy B says:

    Great job Meredithe! That is a lovely end result and I like how you cut the fabric to suggest eyes for the little birdies. Thanks for showing us the working drawings too. (BTW: hope you are feeling better and so sorry you missed AQC!!)

  13. What a lovely bright and interesting block. I too made two birds and three eggs! This was a fun project and I too am looking forward to next weeks new theme.

  14. thimbleanna says:

    What a cute block Meredithe! That challenge sounds like a lot of fun, although I’m not sure I could handle making the blocks not knowing what the final plan will be. Scary!

  15. frayedattheedge says:

    Ya boo sucks (do you say that in Oz) I know what next month’s theme is,because Lucie told me so I can do it on holiday!!

  16. primal quilting says:

    So cool! I love it!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

