Autumnal Food

Autumn; and a woman’s thoughts turn to……comfort foods!

With the slow coming change of season, I’ve witnessed a shift of available fruit and vegetables at my green grocers over the last couple of weeks.

My favourite lunch time food is back…..Sweet Corn!…

20130404-170521.jpgpopped into a saucepan with water, brought to the boil and cooked for 7 long, mouthwatering, impatiently waited for minutes. Then placed on a plate with a little (let’s be honest here!) lashings of butter, and a goodly amount of salt and pepper…

20130404-170918.jpg…the only problem is having to wait for the corn to cool a little before devouring – I’m not fond of burnt mouth/tongue!

It’s also time to indulge in the more involved cookery, like lasagne…..

20130404-171112.jpg….the smell of which pervades the kitchen, again bringing on that mouth watering anticipation of deliciousness, watching the white sauce bubble and brown, knowing underneath it is a wonderful mix of meat, bacon, onion, tomato, mushrooms, herbs and spices, the flavours all mingling and bubbling away….

20130404-171449.jpg

And with the cooler days and evenings, these victuals are the perfect warm-me-up!

Happy stitching (and cooking and eating!)
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Autumnal Food

  1. treadlemusic says:

    Well, considering the lunch/dinner I had earlier is still very much in my interior(!), That looks awesome and your descriptions are painful (hehe) as I sit here!!! YUM!!!!! Hugs, Doreen

  2. patchworkrose says:

    sounds just so nice but I would not fit in the front door in a short space of time! Wish my Metabolism rate could gallop :-))

  3. primal quilting says:

    Wow your lasagna looks amazing!

  4. I’ve just had breakfast, but now I want lasagne!! Have a good weekend x

  5. Fiona Lazenby says:

    Do you do home delivery ? Lasagne looks awesome.

  6. I just had a salad for my supper but a bit of that lasagne would have gone down nicely. I looks delicious.

  7. Helen F says:

    Was that a nice glass of white wine in the background of the lasagne??? Perfect !!!!!! Have you tried cooking you corn in the microwave ? – its faster!!!!!

  8. Robyn from the country says:

    Made your chicken and sweet corn soup recipe for lunch today after Church. Yum. I so enjoy soup weather!

  9. Pip says:

    Mmm, comfort food, I do enjoy a cob (or two) of sweet corn (with butter) but I don’t enjoy all the bits in my teeth afterwards 🙂 I haven’t made lasagne (or canneloni) in ages, they might be making an appearance soon, I need to make a few meals that I can pop in the freezer.

  10. Miss E says:

    The seasons must be turning: I have also made lasagne and 2 big pots of soup in the last week, and we had roast chook for dinner yesterday (yummy)… so more soup is coming once I’ve made stock from the chicken bones.
    I love filling up the slow cooker with meat and veg and letting it bubble away, or exploring different ways to cook pumpkin and sweet potato now that Autumn is here.
    … I’m making myself hungry now!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

