My Show and Tell

I thought it was time to show you a bit of what I’ve been achieving of late.

First though, here are the patterns we were given at the recent gathering with The Crows and a gorgeous book from Jo Morton that I bought. More yummy goodnesses to add to the desire list!…

20130326-141025.jpgI was very taken with Amandajean’s Zig Zag Quilt when I came across it on the Bee Square blog a couple of months ago. Amandajean cut her strips at 3.5 inches, but I had a jelly roll…

20130326-142046.jpg…of beautiful colours in Marmalade from Bonnie and Camille

20130326-143213.jpg…and a Rainbow of white.

20130326-143258.jpg….It was a matter of stitching the strips together…

20130326-143350.jpg…cutting them into 4.5 inch segments…

20130326-143436.jpg…laying out row….

20130326-143526.jpg…after delicious row…

20130326-143624.jpg…then stitching them together until…

20130326-143711.jpgIt was so much fun that I got er, a tad carried away and the top is a little uneven, being about 45 inches wide and 83 inches long!! But I think I’ll get some of the large blue flower from the range and put a strip either side to widen it. Oh dear, that means a trip to Sewn and Quilted – such a hardship!!!

Friday was an excursion to Patchwork of Essendon for another class with Robyn Falloon. Sadly this shop is to close at the end of June this year. I’m going to miss my trips over there very much. I believe there are bargains to be had starting in April as all stock, and shop fittings, are to be sold, including new stock that will be arriving between now and end of June.

But in class I put together the appliqué for the first block of Peacocks

20130326-144410.jpg…and made a start stitching it on Saturday. For the first time ever I basted the pieces; they are so large, and the centre stems are all cut from one piece, that I didn’t think pinning or gluing would work (the block is 30″). I’m enjoying appliquéing these large pieces – they stitch up so quickly!

Sunday was our second class with Liz at Millrose Cottage using the Sue Spargo Flowerbed book. I don’t think I’ve shown you the finished block from last month, so here ’tis…

20130326-145115.jpg…and on Sunday I prepared two more blocks in class ready for some embellishing. I think they’ll look good together…

20130326-145311.jpgWe had a fabulous day on Sunday…..but more on that tomorrow!! So until then….

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Show and Tell

  1. Helen F says:

    M I just luuuuv your new zig zag quilt – I want to make one!!!!!

  2. Hilda says:

    Lucky you to go to the gathering! and what a nice Crows collection – all beautiful!! I especially like Ruby Red. Have fun with them 🙂
    Hilda

  3. Helen F says:

    M I thought it ended abruptly!!!! but I already had a sneak peak of your zig zag quilt!!! You did a lot of stitching at the hairy day at Ballan

  4. Maree says:

    The zig-zag quilt is very interesting ,and the colours and prints gorgeous, no wonder you got carried away!

  5. Your zig zag quilt is yummy x

  6. Anne says:

    My goodness, I don’t know where to start! Great use of the jelly rolls – I could do something similar with two of my several jelly rolls (when I had a look, I was amazed to find how many I have!). The applique is fabulous, and I love the embellishment – I think that will be happening on a block of mine soon! Now I have to go back and investigate all your links!

  7. Pip says:

    Do you actually sleep? :):)
    wow you have been busy, I love the ZigZag quilt – what a great way to get around the triangles, I almost wish I hadn’t clicked on the link, that will be another one for my ever growing list.

  8. Susan says:

    Love your zigzag quilt, great choice of fabric for it. Gorgeous detail on your Sue Spargo block, very clever.

  9. thimbleanna says:

    You’re a busy, busy girl. A fun zigzag quilt — I laughed at your comments about it being too long. And I LOVE that applique block that you’re working on!

  10. Karen says:

    I love those last blocks you show and went to Sue Spargo web site to see her things. I love the embellishments that you are doing with these blocks

  11. primal quilting says:

    Love the zig zag idea! Not something I have seen before. I love bonnie and Camille!

  12. Love love love the zigzag quilt.
    And the appliqué
    And everything else.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

