It’s Too Darn Hot

That song, sung by the sublime Ella Fitzgerald, keeps running through my head. I know my northern hemisphere readers are longing for sunshine, Summer and heat, but really this is too much. For almost 10 days now, the temperature has been over 30 degrees, the last several days 35 or over, and it’s not cooling down at night, making sleep a rare commodity. I’m longing for cold; bone chilling, teeth chattering, toe numbing, goose bump inducing, shiver-me-timbers cold! At least I can get warm when it’s cold!

So while I await Winter’s return, I’ve made these instead. First, hunt down icipole containers – who knew they would be so hard to find?? Then take one Bill Granger recipe, all necessary ingredients, whiz, dice, mix, pour…

20130310-132503.jpg…wait impatiently….then devour!!

20130310-132822.jpg…biting into that sumptuously cold frozen mix, letting it insinuate the chill around your mouth, enjoying the tang of the lime, the tartness of the Greek yogurt, the sweetness of the mango, the richness of the coconut cream, all blending to make an ambrosial Summer treat…….oh, sorry, I think I just channeled Nigella Lawson!!

Anyway, lets just say, they’re not your normal “sweet” ice cream, but a delicious tangy alternative – and I’m sure a healthier version!

Enjoy!

…..I am!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Too Darn Hot

  1. patchworkrose says:

    Totally agree. same weather in Adelaide 39 degrees here today. Plan to sit under the aircon and cut some hexagons to join my Free Wheelin blocks together. They are looking good.
    Keep Cool 🙂

  2. broderie says:

    I have been eating Larry’s lemonade/ Robbo’s raspberry icy poles, made by Peters ! They are also very refreshing and low fat and I don’t have to make them. I’m with you, turn the cold switch on !!!

  3. treadlemusic says:

    You are right, gals……there isn’t a whole lot of sympathy from this “neck of the woods”….31F and 5” of snow on the ground, more possible tonight. Wood fired furnace working beautifully!! Those mango frozen treats will be tried out when the warmer temps and green grass return!!! Stay cool as we try to stay warm!!! Teeth chattering, blue finger hugs to all! Doreen

  4. Helen F says:

    I agree M – I ate nothing but ice cream and icy poles yesterday as well!!!! ITS SOOOOO HOT!!! It is nice looking at all our overseas blogs at the cool!!!!!!

  5. Pip says:

    A cool change is coming tonight, Victorians will have to wait till tomorrow sorry. I’m going to try a soft serve version of those icy poles, I have frozen mango in the freezer, yoghurt in the fridge, limes and I’m almost sure I have coconut cream as well, yum.

    Hand piecing or applique in front of the fan is the go for me at the moment, quite cool.

  6. Janine says:

    Were you wiggling your bottom and shaking your booty whilst making the ice cream. Nigella would xxx
    .

  7. Kate says:

    It’s tiring to have so many hot days without a cool change to bring sanity back!!! Here in Sydney we are O.V.E.R. the humidity. (I’ll be whinging come July though!) Thanks for the link to Bill’s ice blocks … they look yummy. Now to find a mango I don’t have to mortgage the house for!
    Love your blog and the inspiration it brings.

  8. Anne says:

    I hope you were licking your fingers and making eyes at an imaginery camera when you were doing Nigella!! You will have to make some chilled summer soups too – while we will be having a big bowl of warming spag bol for dinner tonight!

  9. I’ll send you some of our deep freeze weather. Hopefully both your hot, hot, hot weather and our freezing cold weather will break soon! In the meantime enjoy your lovely ice lollies.

  10. thimbleanna says:

    Oooh, those look yummy! And you’ve hit on exactly why I’ve always liked colder weather than hot — you can always put more clothes on and get warm LOL!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

