Block and Fabric

(This header sounds like I’m in the building industry and should really read Block and Tackle!! I suppose we do in a way “build” quilts, so it’s not too far wrong!).

I do love it when I open my e-mail each morning and there are lots, and lots of lovely, quilty e-mails from you, dear peeps, sending comments on my posts, and new posts from the blogs I subscribe to: it’s a very happy way to start the day, and makes for easy digestion of my brekky!!

One such e-mail yesterday was from Barbara Brackman, always an interesting read, and a second from her for the Dixie Diary Block of the Month. So a quick visit to the sewing room and a short stint at the sewing machine, and Shouting Yankee Doodle was done!…

20130305-112418.jpg(Yes, I know the little do-dads on the yellow fabric are going every-which-way, but it’s deliberate – enough of being too particular….that’s particular not peculiar!!)

Being the beginning of the month, it’s also time for the next Fabric Club bi-monthly mail out, but seeing as I was at the shop on Saturday when the girls had just finished getting them ready (did you hear the “yippees”?!), I’ve picked mine up….

20130305-112753.jpgJudy Rothermel’s deliciously named Strawberries, Blueberries…..

20130305-112919.jpg…and Chocolate!! Love the way this woman thinks!!

As always, Karen had a choice of 4 packs, and luckily for me, there was another there that defied my resistance….(not surprised, are you!)

20130305-113058.jpg…the very aptly named, Somerset Shirtings!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Block and Fabric

  1. Helen F says:

    Hey M – I really like my packet of fabric – the purples, blues and yellows !!!! Your block twirls!!

  2. thimbleanna says:

    Oooohhhh, those fabrics are gorgeous. Do you have a plan for them, or are you just hoarding???

  3. Susan says:

    Lovely fabrics, the shirtings are gorgeous.

  4. Anne says:

    Love the fabrics! I shall have to resist temptation when I go to Anne’s tomorrow, to deliver the two children’s quilts!!

  5. Beautiful fabrics. I love popping over to see what’s going on in your part of the world. Brilliant sunshine spring like day her in the northeast of England.

  6. mandymunroe says:

    If you like shirtings have a look at Margo Kragers Favorite Shirtings by Newcastle Fabrics 🙂

  7. primal quilting says:

    love the reproduction print fabrics! I am doing a block of the month program from fatquartershop.com and it uses civil war reproduction fabrics (civil war melodies from marcus brothers). they’re so cool!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

