Cool Trippin’

Firstly an apology: to my fellow Melbournians and those in southern Victoria who are feeling bereft of Summer with the cool weather we’ve been experiencing and are about to experience……..it’s all my fault! I’m so sorry. You see for 20 years quite some time I’ve been badgering B to get an air conditioner and finally, Monday week ago, we had a split system installed in the family room; it’s all I wanted, just somewhere cool on a hot day so I can sew, or read, or cook a meal, in comfort. And, of course, Murphy’s Law, in the eight days we’ve had it, it’s been used……..just once! (Much to B’s chagrin! Can you hear him complaining in the background?!)

However, on the one hot day we had last week – where the temperature rose to 37 degrees, totally justifying the use of the air conditioner – I was able to sew at the machine in total comfort!

First I chose fabrics…

20130130-185320.jpg…and then with the help of this great tutorial from Bonnie Hunter, I made this….

20130130-185637.jpg….which I’m sure many of you have seen on loads of other blogs.

This is So Much Fun!! Made even more so, because while I was cutting and sewing and pressing and cutting and arranging and sewing and pressing I was COOL! The family room was blissfully pleasant to be in, I was in a calm state of mind, not fretting or fussing over the weather, and, did I mention, I was cool?!?! So the name of this quilt is, appropriately, Cool Trippin’!

And the state of play at the end of the day?

20130130-190402.jpg….and another 6 sets of fabric chosen for the next lot of blocks!

I’m a happy girl!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

PS I have had a quiet word to the Weather Bureau and they assure me there is more hot weather to come……early next week by the look of things……bring it on! I’m getting ready with that control panel!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cool Trippin’

  1. Suz says:

    Ah, so the weather is all your fault! And now there is another UFO on the list, how do you explain that??LOL!

  2. Helen F says:

    I just luuved those blocks on the weekend – they are so pretty with all your retro, modern fabrics!!!! Now after all these years we will be able to have stitching at your place in the “SUMMER”!!!!

  3. Anne says:

    Love your cool trippin’ …… I would have spotted from across the room that those fabrics were yours! Isn’t it funny that you are trying to keep cool, and I am burning lots of logs in my little stove to keep warm!

  4. Susan says:

    We had ours installed last summer and used it maybe 3 times…..have more than made up for it this summer though. It’s so good to have somewhere cool to relax when it’s hot……..the beginnings of your new quilt look great.

  5. Sheila says:

    How did number 10 on the list make it right up to number 1? Now there will be nothing else done ’til the flimsy is finished, it simply will not be ignored :-)Its looking so pretty.
    I got my 36 blocks together today and now can move on to something else, oh no! wait, its got to be quilted to call it finished,

  6. Cathy says:

    Right, the next hot day we have I’m coming to your house!!!! Especially if you are going to be whipping up a sewing storm with these beauties! xo

  7. thimbleanna says:

    Haha — you’ve been sucked in by the trippers. Your version looks fantastic!

  8. Maree says:

    Did I spy some little bits of Liberty in some of those squares? Very pretty anyway. Keep cool x Maree

  9. Pip says:

    Still resisting making this quilt, although I did see a finished top in the flesh yesterday and I’m starting to weaken a bit, and I just remembered I have a heap of 2.5″ strips already cut which are leftover from another project which are just waiting to be used somewhere, so it may happen yet.
    Your version is lovely, my friend’s quilt was lovely too.

  10. Jan says:

    Hey, I’ve started this too! No sewing yet but have cut about half of the fabrics out…..did I send you the link? School’s all back as of today so will catch up soon. x

  11. Ruth says:

    Hi Meredithe, thanks for the link to Bonnie’s tutorial. I have started a trip around the world quilt for a friend. I have a pattern for this quilt, but Bonnie’s method is so easy and foolproof. thank you.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

