Weekend Stitching

Wow!!

What a fabulous weekend!

I’m in love with appliqué…….again!

Irene is such a generous teacher, sharing techniques, experiences and ideas, all with such good humour, and she has so many new quilts coming – can’t wait for the patterns to come out! And my fellow students were delightful; friends new and familiar. Jane even came down from Brisbane just because of the class – luckily there’s tennis on this week too!!

Saturday saw us planning, choosing, tracing, cutting……at everyone’s area there were piles of fabrics….

20130114-150141.jpg….beginnings….

20130114-150225.jpg…and tiny, tiny creations….

20130114-150308.jpg
We were totally spoilt with delicious food. The zucchini slice and accompanying two salads disappeared before I could get the camera out, but the scrumptious asparagus cake…

20130114-150439.jpg….tasty peppermint slice and chocolates…

20130114-150536.jpg…helped keep mind, body and soul together as we made great progress.

Irene gave us homework for Saturday night, and nicer homework I have never had! Completed that by 8.40, just in time to pack up ready to watch the Hon. Miss Fisher, barely staying awake, and slept so soundly I nearly slept through the alarm!

Sunday we were back on deck, minus one as Ann-Marie had to work. Poor Jane realised that her apartment accommodation didn’t run to a light box, or stencil plastic, or bias maker, so she had a glass of wine instead! She caught up during the day with some help from Irene. For the rest of us, it was time to get pieces down on fabric. I started with a blank canvas and slowly progressed from this…

20130114-151310.jpg

20130114-151328.jpg

20130114-151347.jpg

20130114-151412.jpg….to this. Who says repros have to be dull??!! (You may recognise some Beguiling Billings fabrics in mine – loved the combo then, so why not try them in something different?!)

Kim added a few extras from her stash over night and created this…

20130114-151611.jpgSue totally changed what she started with on Saturday and now has this pretty version….

20130114-151734.jpgAnita produced this (do you like the “caterpillars” on the stems?!)…

20130114-151842.jpgJane, though starting the day a bit behind, forged ahead and made it this far…

20130114-152047.jpg…with these very cute circles…

20130114-152138.jpg….aren’t they all just wonderful?!

Karen and Sue joined us for some stitching on Sunday, both working on new projects, so can’t show those, though this new mug might give a clue to what Sue is doing….

20130114-152312.jpg

Sunday’s lunch was an appetising array of meats and salad to make our own rolls….

20130114-152518.jpg…followed by the best fruit salad with optional yogurt…

20130114-152607.jpg(I love summer fruits – had two helpings of that!!)

Just before lunch the first stitch was taken by Kim…

20130114-152720.jpg…then we were all appliquéing!

Colourful threads….

20130114-152842.jpg…fabulous boxes and bags…

20130114-152931.jpg..and a sneak peek at one of Irene’s new projects….

20130114-153020.jpg….Big Sigh! Heavenly!

Thanks to all for making the weekend such a joyful experience. As always, when quilters get together there is lots of talk (when we weren’t all concentrating hard!), laughter, friendship and creativity – this weekend was no exception!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

PS Did anyone pick up on the “asparagus” cake? It’s actually rhubarb cake but will be forevermore now known as asparagus cake as Irene someone had a mental blank and the only word that would come to mind was asparagus!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekend Stitching

  1. Janine says:

    I was going to say about the asparagus . But I thought she off her bottle again best leave it. Looking good Miss M . Going to be a beauty xxx

  2. Quilter501 says:

    OMG…..that was the most inspirational, wonderful blog to read ever!!!!!!!!! I am soooooo enthralled with the kind of applique and quilting you gals are doing in Australia. It is sooooo different from what is popular here in the US. I love, love, love it. How I wish I weren’t across the world and could be there to enjoy all of this with you all!!!! Your fabric selections and patterns are beyond words.

    But here I sit in remote NE corner of Washington State in the USA. I live in the middle of nowhere….50 miles from the closest town. Presently it is 3 degrees Fahrenheit and we have a wonderful fire in the wood burning stove. My only neighbors are deer, moose, an occasional cougar and lots of wild turkeys. Gorgeous…..but lonesome……and not many quilting friends who are as adventurous and creative as you are. Keep up the great work……and thank you, thank you for sharing with those of us who LOVE your blog. (I recently won a set of your wonderful templates……and plan to order others.

  3. broderie says:

    I’m sure lots wondered about the asparagus cake, but leave the sugar out and add a bit of cheese and it sounds good ! Lovely to look at new works in progress !

  4. kathie says:

    LOVE the fabrics you chose for yours and I totally agree repros are not always dull!
    had to look at the ones you used need to put some of them in my basket for the flower garden quilt I am doing in repros! Some I don’t know whose they are! Its going to be a beautiful quilt.
    Very fun to see the others in progress too, love those caterpillars!!!
    I love summer fruit salads too…
    glad you had a great weekend!
    Kathie

  5. Anne says:

    I wish I could have been there! I love your fabric choices ….. and all the others too. And good food – the perfect weekend (yes, I noticed the cake – I thought “funny, that asparagus looks a lot like rhubarb!”
    I’ve just finished the Phrye Fisher book – it was good to read about St Kilda and the Hopetoun Tearooms – happy memories!!

  6. Di O'Neill says:

    What a wonderful weekend! Loved all the content and photos on your blog. Made me feel even more disappointed that I wasn’t there. I wonder when Irene will hold another workshop. I will follow your progress with great interest.
    Happy stitching
    Di

  7. Miss E says:

    Sounds as if you had an amazing weekend! Your food photos made me hungry and I puzzled over ‘asparagus cake’ … perhaps a different version of Zucchini Slice but using asparagus instead? The applique is gorgeous – beautiful work, everyone. I love using left-over fabric from one project in the next and seeing it come to life again in a whole new way. Thank you for sharing!

  8. Glenda says:

    Gorgeous, inspirational, fabulous , jealous!!!!!!!!
    So glad u enjoyed !
    Gx

  9. Irene Blanck says:

    Well Meredith – what can i say? I am supposed to do my blog post as well – but i might just direct everyone to this one. Perhaps I’ll do it tomorrow night – when I get a break from the day job.

    What a great time we had – inventing new phrases. I thought that asparagus cake was quite original – but I did have a CRAFT moment, as you so rightly mentioned! You forgot to mention “Kim tacking”!

    I always love seeing the fabric choices others make when they do my quilts – it gives me such joy to know that quilters enjoy my patterns – I still have to pinch myself!

    And Di keep a look out on my website and calendar – i teach around the traps so I’m sure that you’ll find something soon. And of course, you can always ask Karen to bring me back! lol!

  10. thimbleanna says:

    Haha — I wondered about that cake — glad to know it wasn’t me LOL. And WOW! Your applique is gorgeous. All of the ladies look to be doing an outstanding job!

  11. Helen says:

    Looks like it was a wonderful weekend. Would love to sign-on for this class but sadly it is a little far away. Which is disappointing. I signed on for a class here, but it was booked solid. Have to wait till next year. The blocks look amazing. Can’t wait to see the end result. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Helen F says:

    M you have done sooo much already!!!! Keep up the good work and you will have it finished by “SEPTEMBER”!!! It was definitely a great class to be part of (when I called in to buy some fabric) and the girls are making lovely colour combinations and not a bird in sight!!!!!

  13. Suz says:

    mmmm, did wonder about asparagus cake- rhubarb sounds much more tasty! Love all the applique!

  14. Jean says:

    Wow you girls certainly achieved alot that weekend, Aunty Greens coverlet is on my bucket list but that bucket is getting very full. 🙂
    Love the Brigitte Giblin hexagon purse, they are so useful to hold all our sewing bits arent they.

    Looking forward to the progress

  15. Hi. I’m not really an applique girl but your images are so attractive with the amazing fabric choices and that little hexagons purse is so cute.

  16. Ann says:

    How gorgeous they all look, can’t wait to see them finished. Sounds like it was a wonderful weekend. How nice to sit and stitch ALL weekend. A 🙂

  17. Karen says:

    I thought that looked like rhurbarb! Love your blog and all the photos of your projects.

  18. Looks like you girls had a fun weekend…. love the design you were making, gorgeous fabrics and colours you have all used, as for the cake I was excited at first to think that you could buy pink asparagus…..LOL!!

  19. That is just amazing. What a great way to spend a weekend So much work got done it all looks fantastic

    Louise Sent from my iPhone

  20. Jan says:

    Oh, this looks like a dream weekend! Good friends, good food and gorgeous projects!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

