Class Time

I started prepping the photos for this post at 5.30am, having woken at 5.16………..brain churning, images rolling in my head, fingers itching to cut and sew, but as my roomies were still in the land of nod, decided cropping pics and getting this post out a better option!

Our classes for the weekend are at Cottage Qultworks, the most delightful shop – more on that tomorrow – and seeing this sign as we entered the premises

20140330-061239.jpgonly reinforced the promise of a wonderful day.

Jean started the day with an introduction, and then Margaret gave a talk which totally sang with me, leaving me feeling so fired up and inspired (an overused but totally appropriate word!), and ready to get to it!!

After going through all my pics I’m a little overwhelmed, and – agog and aghast!! – a little short on words!! So I might just let the photos do the talking if that’s alright with you.

There were goody bags for each

20140330-061840.jpgcontaining a cute needle case inside a “music bag”, and a fabulous assortment of tags made from photos of, and cut in the style of images from Margaret’s work

20140330-062107.jpg
I’ll preface the next images by saying there are 23 of us, including The Best Organisers, Jean (who you’ll find more readily and actively on Instagram!!) and Lizzie, and our wonderful teacher, Margaret Sampson George, or MSG as she’s affectionately referred to! So you will understand that attributions will be few and far between as my overloaded brain can’t remember “which belonga who”! And apologies if I get it wrong!!

I think this is Jenny’s and she’s working it on an old Marcella quilt – I love this idea!…..

20140330-063044.jpgSimone and Maree

20140330-065115.jpgJenny and Judy

20140330-065140.jpg

20140330-065235.jpga couple of the bags and pincushions

20140330-065316.jpgmore work

20140330-065345.jpg

20140330-065408.jpgCardygirl brought (and bought!) and suitcase ful of fabrics to play with….

20140330-065628.jpgOver the weekend, we will each get one-on-one time with MSG to discuss our quilts: there’s a lot of “floor” work!!

20140330-165553.jpg
My quilt is to undergo a massive change; I’d decided that to get it anywhere near finished most of the appliqué would have to go (trying to be realistic here!!), so the setting is changing

20140330-071640.jpgand whirligigs, like the one you can see, will appear in the corners – only not this one as it was borrowed (thanks Sue!).

Rae showed me how she’s using my Elwood Rose template, sewing only the “rose” part, to create these gorgeous flowers which will be appliquéd onto a linen background…..

20140330-071949.jpgLoving this sooooo much!!

We then had a magnificent Show and Tell, which, unfortunately, I can’t show you, but we did so appreciate it!

It finished up with MSG’s Very First Quilt, some 35 years old!

20140330-081817.jpgJust a little different from what she makes these days!!

That’s been a long post, I know, and thank you for wading through it all. There’s more to come today I’m sure, but as my roomies have woken, showered, dressed and now gone down to breakfast, I’d better get my skates on and join them…….I don’t want to be left behind and miss out on today’s fun!!

Much love
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Class Time

  1. Susan says:

    No wonder you can’t sleep! What a feast for the eyes! I love the cute little donkey pincushion! And the mauve quilt! Amazing work! Have fun!

  2. audrey says:

    So much fabulous work! Thanks for the inspiration. I can’t even imagine being able to be in the same room with those wonderful quilts.:)

  3. treadlemusic says:

    Another (much used word) amazing collection of creative finishes!!!! Hugs……………

  4. Carrolyn V says:

    I am overwhelmed with the talent and creativity shown in these quilts. What a joy and privilege it would be to be at one of these classes. Sitting up here in the mountains of the Pacific Northwest USA, I can only dream. Thank you so much for sharing. Totally awesome!!!!!!

  5. Perri says:

    Wonderful of you to share your great class … Marg’s classes are fantastic … so, look forward to your sharing more :-)
    Happy stitching, P

  6. Carole says:

    Wow! As you said just so inspirational – thanks for sharing.

  7. Pip says:

    My brain is whirling with inspiration after seeing all your photos, no wonder you woke early :)

    I looked up synonyms for inspired and none of them seem to fit or convey the right meaning so I will be sticking with using “inspired” until I find a better one :)

  8. Hi, I always enjoy stopping by and reading your lovely blog. So many beautiful quilts. Can I ask a question. I saw the lovely needlebook with Rachel Howell Sampler by The Scarlet House that you were given. Can you tell me how it’s made. Is it a photo?

  9. Oh my, I am on total overload at all that fabulous stitching – I will have to go through it all again to take it all in! What an amazing experience!!

  10. LB says:

    So happy to hear you were in my neck of the woods this weekend! Love the pics and am inspired by your inspiration too!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

