My Midnight Madness

I had a play with everything I took on Saturday, spending most of the day hand piecing, which I’ll show you in a jiffy, then some Auntie Green appliqué – a couple of flowers stitched on – and wound down with hand quilting another strip on Strawberry Fields. So all in all, a very productive 12 hours!

Now, I hear you ask, what’s this new hand piecing project?? Well, a couple of weeks ago, I decided it was high time to clean up the mess in That Room, prompted mostly by hearing that Corliss from Threadbear teaches women at the jail up her way how to sew, and can make good use of unwanted fabrics and blocks. As there were several a few of same cluttering up That Room, I rounded them up and sent them packing to Corliss. Such a weight was lifted from my shoulders!! They weren’t sitting ’round idly, taking up space, glaring belligerently at me, but now have a useful second life. Aw!

In that clear out, I did discover a bag containing some very precious fabrics – not forgotten, just a little mislaid!! It was with great delight that I opened this bag and realised what was inside….and I knew exActly what to do with them. So after some cutting and marking, I have a pile of these…

20130205-141247.jpgYes!! It’s Denyse Schmidt’s Flea Market Fancy…..from the first time around!! (With a few purchased in this second time round too.) And very cleverly, I had added in some plains and shot cottons…

20130205-141530.jpg…for me this is swoon fabric!…

20130205-141609.jpg…and the tumbler pattern is just right, me thinks. Saturday I whipped up a row and started on a second, and by Sunday afternoon the first two rows were together….

20130205-141745.jpg…this is So Much Fun!!

Row three is on its way, all sitting pretty on my blue op-shop-find cushion…

20130205-141913.jpg…some friends have introduced me to the concept of stitching with a cushion, and I must say, it does help with the posture! I bought the cushion on Saturday at the oppy, for a whole $5.00 ( original price still on it at $23.95! ). Isn’t the little needle case a darling?…

20130205-142228.jpg…it was a birthday gift last year from Marian and I just love it!

So my tumblers are nesting sweetly in my tin….

20130205-142442.jpg….waiting their turn to join the happy throng! Tis such a great, no think, easy peasy, quick project….And Loving It!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Midnight Madness

  1. Suz says:

    I must get Corliss’ address from you for some fabric and blocks- I’m more than happy to help out! Love the needle case made from the doiley! And DS- fabulous!

  2. Anne says:

    OK – I’ll forgive you for starting another project, as those fabrics are a feast for the eye!! I love your little needle case!

  3. Carolyn says:

    I love the doily needle case, so cute, and the tumbler quilt. The fabrics are wonderful and a tumbler quilt is certainly on my to do list.

  4. marian says:

    isn’t it fun piecing those tumblers [in my case 'thimbles' ]?? i was just admiring your sweet little doily needlecase.. thought it looked familiar lol!!
    cheers… Marian

  5. Brilliant fabric, perfect block. Easy peasy projects are soooo relaxing. Well done you.

  6. Lori D says:

    Looks like a fun project!!

  7. Helen F says:

    Wow M you are going great guns with your tumblers – as you were on Saturday!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

