A Finish!

One of B’s golfing buddies and his wife had their first child just before Christmas. B asked if there was a “spare” quilt hanging around, suitable for a baby girl!! Luckily there was – a quilt top that I’d made for a trade show, just perfect for the new comer. All it needed was to be quilted, bound and labelled!

I may have mentioned before that when it comes to piecing, my sewing machine and I have a love affair, but when it comes to machine quilting……it’s divorce material! So with some trepidation, I spray basted the quilt top to wadding and backing (thanks for that tip, Mrs Mac!) and set myself up for an afternoon of frustration fun!

It actually came up quite well, me thinks….

20130122-134716.jpg…just simple straight line quilting with a walking foot. Only had to unpick a little bit where the backing got caught up….phew!!

20130122-134937.jpg…the bees are so cute, and the happy little teapots!…

20130122-135229.jpg…used a red and white check for both the backing and binding…

20130122-135512.jpg
“Bee Happy” is now at its new home, ready for a little girl to play on or snuggle under…

20130122-135703.jpg
And what did I learn? It helps to eat a whole, big block bit of dark chocolate before tackling machine quilting!

Oh darn it!! Why didn’t I have this on one of the lists?! It could have been a cross off!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Finish!

  1. It is a lovely quilt, a lucky babygirl is going to enjoy this. Your quilting looks great. And now there is one that you don’t have to put on a list.

  2. Suz says:

    Time to write a new list, me thinks! “Bee Happy” is very cute! And I’m so glad the machine quilting worked! I found when I basted well, the quilting worked! Oh, btw we have all caught the backing up into the rest of the quilt- well, at least I have!

  3. Susan says:

    Such a cute and individual baby quilt. Your quilting looks really good. I’m sure your friends loved it.

  4. Anne says:

    Yes, we have all caught the backing in the quilting!! I love the fabrics – a very pretty quilt for the new arrival. Check out today’s (Friday’s) post for a book about free motion quilting – I can recommend it!!
    And extra cheering for Andy Murray in the final please – now that he has “bitten” Federer!!

  5. Glenda says:

    It’s gorgeous!
    Wish I had a stash of quilts ” just in case “”!!!!!
    Gx

  6. thimbleanna says:

    Very, very cute!!! I love the sweet little 9-patches!

  7. Miss E says:

    Very sweet, M!
    I suggest adding it to the list retrospectively, particularly as completing it involved machine quilting!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I enjoy reading each one. However, I am pretty hopeless at replying - time seems to run away so quickly! Please know I do appreciate each and every one.

