Saturday Stitching

Had the first “official” sewing day on Saturday. Miss E brought along an embroidered table cloth she’s been working on, which had been started by a relation of Miss V’s….

20130107-104651.jpg

20130107-104721.jpg…but instead of wielding embroidery floss on Saturday, Miss E brought along a project she’d “rediscovered” when having a little clean up…..

20130107-104904.jpg….these 16-patch blocks are made from a jelly roll, and Miss E kindly let me play with the strips. First I sorted them into colour ways….

20130107-105031.jpg…then took great delight in pairing them up…..

20130107-105114.jpg….them I pinned while Miss E cut and sewed. Very quickly there was a pile of finished blocks! Can’t wait to see it completed!

Miss E had also made good use of some fabric which was wrapped around a Christmas present, turning it into a mini bunting!…..

20130107-105402.jpg

Maree had her lovely appliqué….

20130107-105441.jpg

Lynne was working on a Mrs Billings border…

20130107-105524.jpg

And Mrs Mac was stitching more hexagons. We think she has enough for at least 2 quilts now!! We played with settings – abutted….

20130107-105652.jpg…or with a triangle in between….

20130107-105735.jpg….we all voted for a triangle in between, which will be white, and the white surrounding a few of the block can be changed. Easy for us to say!!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday Stitching

  1. Suz says:

    LOVE the hexagon project! Such pretty colours!

  2. pinnewood says:

    What a lovely day, all the projects look lovely

  3. Anne says:

    Oh dear, that reminds me I have some tray/table cloths that I bought in charity shops …… this to-do list could probably fill an entire notebook if I wrote it all down!! I love the mini-bunting – I think I have a fabric in my stash that could be used to make some ….. that would be a nice quick project. I love Mrs Mac’s hexagons, and I too prefer them with triangles in between. The appliques are beautiful and I look forward to seeing how the jelly roll blocks turn out.
    Back in the “old routine” today – up at 6.30 to exercise, breakfast, then some reading, a bit of time online and now it’s shower and off out for the grocery shopping!! Oh – and there is a full laundry basket and an overflowing ironing basket to tackle as well!!!!!!!

  4. Helen F says:

    Oh M I hate it when its time to go home on our saturday stitching days!!!!

  5. Susan says:

    Mrs Mac will be happy to sew triangles – white or other wise – as setting pieces as it makes sewing the hexies together soooo much easier!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

