A Find

I’ve done something today that I’ve never done before!! Wanna hear the story?

On my walk today I saw a chair that someone had left out for hard rubbish collection. I have NEVER in my life picked up anything from the side of the road/off the nature strip, but this chair had me thinking.

Being at the start of my constitutional, I didn’t stop to check it but continued the thought processes as I paced it out and decided I’d extend my usual route to get back to the chair, and if it was still there, it would be mine! As I headed back to investigate I told each car heading to/from that direction that they better not be getting MY chair! And as I rounded the hill……yes! There it was! Having learnt a thing or two from Miss Kaye, I dutifully checked out the frame – tick for sturdiness; checked out the legs – tick for evenness and, added bonus, there are little rubber bits at the end of each leg; checked out the seat – tick, nothing that can’t be fixed. So I lifted up my new treasure and carried it home!

In my sewing area, I sit to draw, design and prepare hand work on this chair…

20121210-155812.jpg…which is part of an inherited dining set (I use the dining table as my work table) and, as you can see, not comfortable for long periods of time. So the “new” chair…..

20121210-155915.jpg…once fixed, will be much more comfortable.

I’m envisioning painting it in that Nordic pale turquoise, then having the seat covered in one of my Kokka fabrics. Maybe this…..

20121210-160109.jpg…which would match my sewing basket…or this….

20121210-160204.jpg….I’m sure there’s something I can find to use.

So Miss Magpie, staple gun at the ready??!! It’s good to have friends with know-how!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

PS Today’s your last chance to enter the Give Away…….!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Find

  1. Glenda cust says:

    Well done!!
    I love a hard rubbish ! I’ve had a couple of great finds!
    You will be hooked now!!!
    Gxx

  2. Suz says:

    Perfect chair- and free! Love the fabric choices being considered!

  3. Anne says:

    Did you choose those fabrics because you know that Helen won’t then sit on your lovely “new” chair?! I have an office chair, with casters, which means I can scoot about the room on it!

  4. broderie says:

    Nice chair ! And if you ever need an extra chair at the dining table, you’ll know which one to use !
    The comfy one ! X liz

  5. njquilter24 says:

    ok I hope you share it with us after your done, go ahead and paint it and I love the fabric with the black and butterflies!
    Kathie

  6. marian says:

    WOW what a gorgeous chair..great find M!! it’s unbelievable what people throw out, so glad you gave it a second chance.
    btw i love those kokka fabrics, hard to pick a fave either will look fab to revamp your chair.

  7. thimbleanna says:

    Oh how fun! Can’t wait to see the final result!

  8. helen f says:

    ha m, i would have loved to have seen u furtively carrying that chair home!! i like the black fabric – but anne i will have a trial sit on it when it is finished by lulu!!

  9. Karen Reid says:

    What a great find – I can’t wait to see the ‘new look’ and I too vote for the butterfly fabric

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I enjoy reading each one. However, I am pretty hopeless at replying - time seems to run away so quickly! Please know I do appreciate each and every one.

