Saturday Sewing

Some of you may have noticed a new button on the sidebar; clever Kat is hosting another Blogtoberfest-type month called #reverb12. Each day Kat will pose a question for participants to ponder. I might not play every day, but will endeavour to keep up!

Kat’s first question, obviously for yesterday (oops, day behind already!), is as follows::

How are you starting this last month of 2012?

Take a moment, close your eyes, take a deep breath and ask yourself the question: how do you feel…

… in your body? in your mind? in your day job? in your creative life? in your heart?

I’m starting this month in disbelief – how can the year possibly be at December already?? I’m nowhere near ready to atune my mind to Christmas and all that that entails. I must admit to feeling a bit weary too, probably end of year blues, and as a consequence my creative life is a little lost, low, non-existent. BUT, time will continue to march on, so it’s best that I grab onto time’s coattails, put a cheery smile on my face and soldier on – I know there are plenty of others out there who are feeling much the same, so really I have nothing to complain about.

And so onto more cheerful things……the last sessions for the year of my sewing groups has started. Oh, that’s not cheerful! But the show and tell was!!

Kaye’s Clamshell quilt is coming along very nicely…

20121202-144437.jpg
Glenda is making Leila in French General fabrics…

20121202-144630.jpg
Miss S is embroidering her wedding details onto the centre block of her marriage quilt that her mum is making for her – these things take time, they’ve only been married 5 years…..!

20121202-144809.jpg
Mrs Mac is just loving these hand pieced hexagons…

20121202-144951.jpg
Helen’s version of Sue’s quilt is looking so good…

20121202-145231.jpg
Miss E brought along the vest she made for her daughter’s fancy dress outfit as The White Rabbit…

20121202-145450.jpgAND a quilt she’s made…

20121202-145539.jpgAND she was sporting a new skirt she’d made, and snazzy new shoes too…(no, she didn’t make the shoes!)

20121202-145719.jpg
Helen has also been ripplin’, ripplin’, ripplin’…

20121202-145835.jpgand showed us some fabulous movie magazines from the 1950′s…

20121202-145927.jpg…one of my favourite movies!

20121202-150119.jpg

20121202-150328.jpg…fascinating reading!!

And being our Christmas breakup there was lots of delicious food….Glenda really got into the spirit…

20121202-150553.jpg…they were almost too good to eat!!

20121202-150810.jpg
A lovely way to end the year with this gorgeous group of girls.

Happy stitching
Meredithe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday Sewing

  1. Helen F says:

    Don’t you hate it when its time to go home!!!!

  2. Glendacust@gmail.com says:

    Love Helen’s, love the hexagons , love it all !,,,
    Always inspirational , relaxing and fun!
    You will get your mojo back Meredithe!!!, it’s the time of year,time to slow down, remember and try and enjoy.Yes it can be difficult, but we are great at supporting each other !
    I’m simplifying this year, trying to remember the ‘ spirit of Christmas’ not the ‘commercial ‘ Christmas
    When all fails listen to the new Rod Stewart Christmas album- it’s fab!
    Enough of my ramblings!
    Glendaxxxx

  3. Anne says:

    I was most dispirited yesterday when I didn’t sell much at the Christmas Fair ….. but then today we had a great morning out, and I spent the afternoon in the studio sewing, and planning future projects. My brain is full of my “year of using it up”. I know you are a committed fabric buyer, but I hope you will still join in with the idea of using up what we already have!!

  4. Karen Reid says:

    I have been following your blog all year and just wanted to say how much I love your blog, Merry Christmas and I hope your mojo returns soon.

  5. thimbleanna says:

    I’m feeling a bit like you about December. All of your friends are working on such pretty projects. I especially love that clamshell and Helen’s version of Sue’s quilt. You’re so lucky to have such an inspirational group of friends!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

